RSS Feed

Daily Archives: September 18, 2011

Review of Ben & Jerry’s Shweddy Balls Ice Cream

Posted on

I enjoyed my roasted beet and pickled okra salad for lunch, but I must admit the entire time I was thinking about getting my mouth around some Shweddy Balls ice cream. Here I offer my humble review.

The ice cream does not lack balls for sure.  I got balls in every spoonful.  However, my first mouthful of Shweddy Balls was a little disappointing. I expected a slightly salty flavor.  Some lightly salted roasted nuts would have been good.  The malted milk balls did add a satisfying crunch.  You want a good crunch when you bite into a ball.  The package says “Vanilla Ice Cream with a hint of rum and loaded with fudge covered rum and malt balls.”  There is no “hint of rum.”  The taste of rum is overpowering.  Maybe it is the combination of the rum in the ice cream and rum in the balls. The rum flavor just doesn’t work here for me.   Shweddy Balls is certainly edible and I’m glad I got some.  However, I don’t see myself biting into these balls again anytime soon.

My Goals for Change.mooc.ca

Posted on

#change11

I’ve been thinking very hard how I want to benefit from this course.  Of course I want to increase my understanding of educational technology and see how others are using it.  More than anything, I want to try out these new ideas.  I’ll share my trials and tribulations with you on this blog, twitter, facebook and google plus.  I’ll comment on what you do and I hope that some of you will comment on what I do!

I’m a graduate student and I work primarily training faculty for LMS migration to Sakai.  Knowing more about educational technology will be a huge help for me.   I’ve been reading facebook posts in Change11 for the past few days, as well as twitter feeds and fellow participants’ blog posts.  I can definitely see that everyone has a wealth of information to offer each other.  This will surely develop into a great experience!